The Astrup Prize Competition

Call for abstracts

The Astrup prize 2022

The Nordic Society for Clinical Chemistry rewards contemporary Nordic research work related to the field of clinical chemistry by the Astrup Prize. The award presentation takes place every second year in connection with the Nordic Congress in Clinical Chemistry, to be held in Reykjavik, Iceland 10th – 13th May, 2022.

The Astrup Prize is an educational grant which is awarded by the Astrup Foundation and which has been donated by Siemens Healthineers during the last many years. Scientists (below the age of 40 years), who have not previously received the Astrup 1st Prize and who are working in one of the Nordic countries, are invited to submit an abstract of a recent scientific work with a maximum length of 1,000 words (incl. references) and not more than two illustrations. The work must be either unpublished or recently published (defined as published on Pub Med after May 2021).

Abstracts, stating name and affiliation of the author, should be e-mailed to Lars Melholt Rasmussen, Chairman of the prize committee at e-mail:

All abstracts must include the applicant’s C.V. also stating date of birth. Deadline for receipt of abstracts is Monday the 7th March 2022. In March 2022 a Nordic prize committee will select up to three of the submitted contributions to be presented by the authors at 38th Nordic Congress in Clinical Chemistry, Reykjavik, Iceland, 2022. The individual presentation should not exceed 20 minutes and will be followed by a free discussion.

Congress fee, travel costs (within the Nordic countries) and accommodation during the congress will be covered. The three nominated scientists are invited to publish their presentation, either as a Regular paper or as part of a Review in The Scandinavian Journal of Clinical and Laboratory Investigation. The manuscript must be submitted before the 1st October, 2022.

Based on the scientific value of the paper, and the quality of the oral presentation, the prize committee will award 3 educational grants from the Astrup Foundation and donated by Siemens Healthineers at a value of respectively DKK 60,000, DKK 30,000 and DKK 10,000 for 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize.

Please address questions regarding the Astrup prize to Lars Melholt Rasmussen, Chairman of the prize committee. E- mail: