The NFKK Young Researcher Award

Call for abstractsdeadline extended

The Nordic Society for Clinical Chemistry rewards contemporary Nordic research work related to the field of clinical chemistry by the NFKK Young Researcher Award. The competition for the prize will take place every second year and will be awarded for the first time at the XXXIX Nordic Congress in Clinical Chemistry in Stockholm, Sweden, 17-20 September 2024.

Scientists below 40 years of age who have not previously received the Astrup 1st Prize and who are working in one of the Nordic countries, are invited to submit an abstract of recent scientific work with a maximum length of 1000 words (including references) and not more than two illustrations. The work can be either unpublished or recently published (defined as published after the last Prize competition abstract deadline, i.e. appearing on PubMed after March 2022). Incoming abstracts are judged by a committee, consisting of five senior scientists within the clinical chemistry field – one from each Nordic country. Three abstracts are selected for oral presentation at the Nordic Congress. The individual presentation should not exceed 20 minutes and will be followed by a free discussion. Based on the scientific value of the paper, and the quality of the oral presentation, the prize committee will award 3 prizes at a value of respectively DKK 40,000, DKK 20,000 and DKK 10,000 for 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize. 

Abstracts, stating name and affiliation of the author, should be e-mailed to Professor Lars Melholt Rasmussen, Odense, Denmark, Chairman of the prize committee at e-mail: . All abstracts must include the applicant’s C.V. also stating date of birth.

Deadline for receipt of abstracts is Sunday the 30th June, 2024.

The three nominated scientists are are invited to publish their presentation, either as a regular paper or as part of a review in The Scandinavian Journal of Clinical and Laboratory Investigation (SICLI).  In addition, they are expected to write a summary in Klinisk Biokemi i Norden (KBN). The manuscripts must be submitted before the 1st November, 2024.

Please address questions regarding the NFKK Young Researcher Award to Lars Melholt Rasmussen, Chairman of the prize committee.

E- mail: